RevivalRevival by Stephen King

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve been a constant reader of the man since CARRIE – over forty years now, and in recent years have found his work a bit hit or miss for me – I loved 11/22/63 for example, but was terribly disappointed in Dr. Sleep. So there was some trepidation when I picked up REVIVAL, having read scathing reviews.

I’m glad I ignored them though for, despite being another slow burner, there is much to enjoy in this tale of broken people, redemption and mad science. King references Arthur Machen’s THE GREAT GOD PAN but I found echoes of other works here, from Theodore Sturgeon’s THE DREAMING JEWELS to Shelley’s FRANKENSTEIN, and also B Movie nods to the likes of THE MAN WITH THE X-RAY EYES and even I WAS A TEENAGE WEREWOLF.

As I said, it’s a slow burner, and it’s only as we approach the climax that all the threads come together and we see why we needed to look so closely at history, family, young-and lost-love and how life changes as the years grow. Then it’s a rush riding the lightning to the bitter-sweet end.

Maybe it’s because I’m getting on a bit myself now, having been on this journey with the writer since I was 16 myself, but this book spoke to me, and I liked it a lot. It reminded me in style of another much maligned King, FROM A BUICK 8, and, yes, I liked that one a lot too.

View all my reviews

