tormentor

We are creatures of rhythm and vibration. Not just us either, and not just the animal and plant kingdoms, but the whole of the universe.

A paragraph from one of my books sort of sums up my philosophy nicely.

“Life is an opportunity to create meaning by our actions and how we manage our way through the short part of infinity we’re given to operate in. And once our life is finished, our atoms go back to forming other interesting configurations with those of other people, animals, plants and anything else that happens to be around, as we all roll along in one big, happy, ever dancing, universe.”

It’s the dance that’s the thing, and our attempts to learn the steps and keep time with our partners is how we fumble through life.

Everything has a natural rhythm. The Earth spins once a day, goes around the sun once a year. The moon goes round the earth every 28 days. Your heart beats in a rhythm particular only to you. Everything has its drumbeat and everything contributes to the dance. You’ve just got to know when to lead and when to follow.

And sometimes, if you let go and let the rhythm do its thing, the music makes the magic makes the music, and the rhythm gets into you and through you and off you go, careering along with no other thought than the dance, and the sheer overwhelming joy of it.

I most recently tried to make sense of some of this in my novella TORMENTOR, where the rhythms are dormant, waiting to be wakened, and when they do make themselves known, they are not recognized for what they are.

This novella was a long time in the making. The basic idea came to me way back in 1991, but it took me a long, long time before I felt that my writing was up to the needs of the story. Then, a couple of years back now, it all finally came together and I spent some time in my head on the Isle of Skye, in a small cottage on a shoreline, listening to the beat. What came out the other end is something that is among my favorites of all the pieces I have written, one where I got everything said that I wanted to say, in the order I wanted to say it.

There’s a lot of fish, some drums, some beer, a lot of whisky, dancing, some good weather, some bad weather, weird noises in the night and some Spaniards – among other things. Things like rhythm, and booze.

And more dancing.

In the end, we all dance together.

GET IT HERE 

 

 

