2296776-hot67

Some things in life stick with you, and shape the person you become, or in my case, the writer I’ve become. I can see influences from all of these things – and many others – coming through in my writing. Not all at the same time, although that would be interesting, but more than one at a time certainly, melding into weird combinations, some of which work better than others. Here they are, in roughly chronological order of which I discovered them, starting back in the early 60’s with Supercar, Fireball XL5 and Stingray.

I’m still striving for the perfect formula.

  • Gerry Anderson
  • The Hotspur
  • Tarzan
  • Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Zulu
  • Ray Harryhausen
  • Quatermass and the Pit
  • The Apollo moon missions
  • Adam Adamant
  • Bogart movies
  • Alistair MacLean
  • Pan Books of Horror
  • Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • William Hope Hodgson
  • John Wyndham
  • Guitar playing
  • H P Lovecraft
  • The Isle of Skye
  • X-Files
  • Newfoundland
