2890_108662108032_1934352_nJust finished a novella and after giving my head a rest for the day, will be doing some Sword & Sorcery writing for a bit on another novella for an anthology, CRYPTID CLASH about giant beasties fighting.

There will be Vikings, wyrd magic, Loch Ness, mad monks and several very big, very violent beasties. Looking forward to it immensely as my writing has been a bit more leisurely and sedate for several months and I’m itching for some mayhem.

One of my very early influences was the Kirk Douglas / Tony Curtis movie THE VIKINGS. There’s that, and when I was very young I would be taken ten miles over the hill from Kilbirnie to the shore at Largs on the Ayrshire coast. There’s a memorial there to The Battle of Largs where Scots fought off Vikings back in the 13th Century. The story was told to me so often it sunk into my soul, and as kids we spent many a day in pretend swordfights as Vikings (when it wasn’t Zorro – but that’s another story 🙂 )

THE VIKINGS, THE LONG SHIPS, THE 13TH WARRIOR, PATHFINDER, OUTLANDER, my book of the Norse Myths,  a love of big  beasties and sword and sorcery, an appearance by Nessie and Scottish history will all get mangled together in this one. Oh yes, and some Led Zeppelin in there too.

Walking side by side with death
The devil mocks their every step
The snow drives back the foot that’s slow
The dogs of doom are howling more
They carry news that must get through
To build a dream for me and you
They choose the path that no one goes
They hold no quarter
They ask no quarter

(c) Led Zeppelin

On a related note – just came across the photie at the top of this on my drive – a Steve Crisp cover for a paperback edition of BERSERKER that never happened. BERSERKER is currently out of print, but this new thing will be featuring the same characters – and I’m hopefully, finally, going to get a paperback edition of BERSERKER this year – this time with a Wayne Miller cover…

Watch this space

 

 

