fishinginfogI’m at the stage of planning out the next six months or so of writing-for the larger bits of work anyway, and there seems to be a nautical theme developing.

I’m currently working on a novella concerning a whaling cult and strange rituals at sea off modern Newfoundland, in a piece that’s also covering sailing folklore, songs and whaling fleet history in the North Atlantic.

I think my next novel is also going to have a nautical theme, although that’s still a bit vague at the moment, I do have a hankering to do a big scale ‘ghost ship’ story in the William Hope Hodgson manner and I think that’s how this one will pan out.

And I’ve just got the go ahead on a S&S novella which will have marauding Vikings, Scottish monks, a sexy Abbess/Sorceress, the Loch Ness monster (on the monks’ side) and a Kraken among other things. I fancied doing something wild and this looks like it’ll fit the bill nicely. Most of the action of this one will be taking place in Inverness and the Moray Firth in Scotland – going home again. Which will be fun.

It won’t be the first time I’ve gone nautical – I’ve been drawn to the sea most of my life and love just watching the water, the play of light, and the sense that it just doesn’t give a shit about our tiny place in the scheme of things. That’s come out in a lot of my writing I think, from THE CREEPING KELP to THE DUNFIELD TERROR and any number of short stories.

The sea is in my blood. And one day, some of my blood – atoms of it anyway – will be in the sea.

As it was, so shall it be again.

Same as it ever was.

