As 2015 willieguitar2015croppeddraws on, I’ve been reflecting on my writing career so far as I rapidly approach the twenty fifth anniversary of starting out.

There have been many ups and downs over the years, but back then, if I’d been offered the publications I now have, I’d have sold my soul for them.

When I first started, all I wanted was to see my name in print. That was fine for a few years. I placed a whole shitload of stories in the small press for just a copy or two of the publications. I got quite cozy down there before I realized I wasn’t actually getting anywhere.

So then I wanted to get paid. Then I wanted a pro-rate story sale, then a novel sale, then a sale in a pro anthology, then a story collection…in hardcover… then I wanted to go full time…and lo and behold, it has all come to pass, and more, especially in the last 5 years. ( I also wanted to sell a film script to Hollywood – but let’s not go there. Okay? )

There’s still things I want to achieve – a story in one or more of the Year’s Best anthologies, a mass market book deal, a luxury yacht so I can just sail round the world all the time – that kind of thing. Some of them might even be achievable.

I’ve just this week sold my 65th pro-rate short story. I’m wondering whether 100 is feasible. Given that 15 years ago I was wondering whether 1 was feasible, I guess I’m doing something right. But it’s in the nature of the beast that I’m never satisfied, always looking ahead to the next gold ring. ( I also get jealous of some of my fellow writers. Shush… don’t tell them.)

But today I decided to count my blessings and look at what I’ve achieved. I can’t quite say I’m content… but I’m happy.

For now, that’ll do.

In the meantime, I’ve got another novel to write in my DarkFuse deal, I’m contracted for a couple of new novellas, I’m in discussions over a new short story collection, and I’ve got a couple of very nice anthology invitations to fit in. So it looks like I’m busy for a whole longer.

 

Onward and upwards.

To infinity and beyond.

